Skip to content

we:Freshmen

Check Our Fresh

Ok so I know it’s still football season and hoop season is just gettin underway.  I know that most of us don’t have the luxury of having NBA League Pass and the games we generally watch are ESPN or TNT games.  I don’t know if you guys have noticed but the NBA attendance has been pretty bad for some arenas around the league.  Just looking at the percentages earlier today, I saw some teams at the bottom of the list that I expected such as Memphis, New Jersey, Sacramento, and Charlotte.  Most of these cities are pretty large, but the teams aren’t that good and don’t have star power.  Some of the other ones at the bottom include Philadelphia, Milwaukee and the Los Angeles Clippers.  Philadelphia and Memphis have an abysmal 56% and 64% attendance rating AT HOME.  Two of America’s great cities aren’t coming out to support their pro basketball teams.  It is early in the season but it is interesting to me that ESPN hasn’t reported anything about this.

Watching some of these teams play, you wonder, “Where are all the hoop fans at? And why aren’t they coming to these games? Ticket prices? Weather? Other options?”  I hope something is done about this soon because it is embarrassing as a basketball fan to see these empty arenas.  Mr. Stern better have some answers for this.  Part of the problem might be the crazy difference between the 8 good teams in the NBA and the 22 bad ones.  That’s just my opinion though.